Latest articles

Families with school children enrolled in community sport are set to benefit from the Active Kids $100 Rebate.

From 2018, parents will be able to claim up to $100 per school-aged child, per year, as a voucher to reduce the cost of sport registration or membership fees for after-school and weekend sport, and active recreation activities.

These activities could include sports such as:

School playground gates thrown open for summer holiday fun.

Schools are an important part of every community and often occupy prime open space. Instead of locking the gate this summer, the trial program will share this public space to allow people to exercise and play at their some of their local schools over the summer holiday break,

The education minister Rob Stokes is trialling the 'Come Play Summer' program during the holidays with selected schools opening up their playgrounds, ovals and sports courts for the enjoyment of their communities.

Recreation Grants 2017: Successful Applicants

A highly competitive grant round with a diverse range of organisations and projects proposed.

The panel found it very difficult but were able to fund 10 separate projects which will have an immediate impact on recreation participation in the local area.

This year's recipients are:

Summer Hill Lakers Netball Club - Super Coach Support

St Anthony's Family Care - Time to Try SPORTS

Leichhardt Juniors Rugby League Club - Welcome

Totem Skate School - Positive Skate Park Engagement

Knockout 2016 hosted by the Redfern All Blacks

The NSW Aboriginal Rugby League Knockout (Koori Knockout) first held in 1971, is one of the biggest Indigenous gatherings in Australia. The Knockout draws around 130 teams from Aboriginal communities across NSW. 
The Redfern All Blacks (RAB) as winners of the men’s and women’s 2015 Knockout will host the 2016 Knockout and Inner West Council has entered into a partnership with the RAB.
The event starts on Friday 30 September with the Junior and Women’s Competition, the men play on Saturday and Sunday.

Calling Sports Clubs & Volunteers

2016 NSW Community Sports Volunteer Awards

Please read the Nomination Guidelines carefully before completing your nomination.

 We encourage you to recognise your volunteers but please remember to:
 1. Contact your State/Peak Sporting Organisation initially to discuss prospective nominations
 2. Complete all sections of the Nomination Form and forward to your State/Peak Sporting

For more information, guidelines and to apply visit: